Workout for the Day

I thought I would share the workout I made for today. I can’t quite remember the precise order I don’t have my sheet in front of me. I did it twice through and it took about 40 minutes or so.

  1. Low Lunge Hold (20-50 seconds per side)
  2. Wall Squat Hold (20-50 seconds per side)
  3. Bulgarian Lunge
  4. 1-Leg Deadlift
  5. Plie Squat
  6. Side Lunge with Knee Raise
  7. Stairs (I walked up and down the stairs with my sandbag 8 times per round)
  8. Donkey Kicks (knees off the floor)
  9. Pull Through (I used a band wrapped around a solid base because I don’t have gym access.) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A32WSOB-6Gw
  10. 3 Position Calf Raise (First slow then fast. Feet Parallel. Toes In. Toes Out.)
  11. Inner Thigh Lift (You can do it elevated for a greater challenge I didn’t do that today though)
  12. Back Lunge with Kick
  13. Weighted Step Ups
  14. 1-Legged Squat (I use a chair)
  15. London Bridge (You can see that here as well as the Lunge with Kick I did and the advanced inner thigh lift I believe. Instead of a challenger you can use a chair as well.)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3gwBoYPULw

Fitness Goals

The other day I listed some of weight-loss and measurement goals so today I wanted to list my fitness/health goals which I feel are more important and will keep me motivated for years to come. From past experience I have learned that weight-loss only goals can lead to some pretty unhealthy practices. Either you hit your goal weight and then revert back to your pre-diet habits or you go to the other extreme pushing harder and harder in order to see “progress” via continued shrinkage. Neither is an ideal scenario and neither promotes health/self-acceptance. Since I am already at a healthy weight (vanity aside) my main focus is fitness.

  1. Run 5 km (I have never actually tried to run 5 km so who knows it might be possible now. I have never been interested in running but I just think this would be a good test of my cardio health. I will, however, be waiting until it warms up to test this out!
  2. Improve my core flexibility. I have been working at this a while now with twists, backbends, sidebends etc.
  3. Improve the joint stability around my knees. I have been doing quite a lot of leg work as of late (wall squats, lunge pulses, lunge holds etc.) and my legs are looking better for it. I am also working on my ankle and hip flexibility, as well as the strength in my outer thighs which are significantly weaker than my inner thighs. My goal is to improve my lunge and decrease the frequency of knee pain.
  4. Continue my posture work and strengthen my back. My abs have always been significantly stronger than my back so I want to achieve a better balance.
  5. Improve my wrist strength. This sounds weird but I have trouble with hyper-extending my wrists. At my cleaning job I carry an industrial vacuum around and the damn thing weighs 40 lbs easily and carrying it has resulted in reoccurring wrist pain.
  6. To do more pushups in full form than on my knees. At the moment I can’t do that many full pushups, the actual number varies daily (my wrist has been creating issues for me). To some day manage a spider pushup! I am actually pretty good at 1 legged pushups bizarrely.
  7. To cook all the recipes in a cookbook. I admit I saw a movie with this theme at some point years ago but if I was more confident in my cooking maybe it wouldn’t be such a chore. I am not sure this will ever happen but I put it on here anyways.
  8. Do a wall handstand. Actually in yoga classes I have done this successfully but that was with the emotional support of a teacher. When I am alone I am just too damn scared. My fear of heights is really out of control!

I will stop here because my mind just of blanked and anyhow there is plenty to work on already!

Working Out at Home

Originally I meant to take photos of all my fitness gear but unfortunately my camera started making some very strange sounds (like a cassette player eating a tape) and so not all of the photos came out. Anyways I gave up working out at the gym several years ago. Like many people I was worried that I needed the gym in order to get in shape but that turned out not to be the case. I can get in just as good shape in or out of the gym. For those of you using the gym stay away from the exercise machines (weights and cardio) in favor of free weights, kettle bells, medicine balls, ropes, sleighs, plyo boxes, tires etc.

So what do I have at home? (I have been collecting for more than 10 years this shit gets expensive)

For yoga and Pilates I have

3 mats (yes 3 because my joints just really need the extra cushion)

2 blocks

1 strap

1 bolster (Sam made the cover of my bolster out of fabric he bought from Tibet for a Christmas present one year)

1 Pilates ball

1 Bosu Ball (it needs some inflation)

3 Pilates bands

1 super simple kitchen timer (so not the fancy HIIT timers)

pilates-stuff

For HIIT weight training etc.

I have 2 exercise bands because those are easy to travel with

1 weighted jump rope

1 common wooden step stool (I don’t have a plyo box and spending that much money on a wooden box is beyond me, Sam plans to make one in the future)

2 kettles bells (1 8kg, 1 4 kg)

1 Medicine Ball (3 kg)

1 Wall Ball (7 kg, got it for my birthday!)

1 sandbag (10 kg)

1 Barbell (I am using the plate weights from another set on it though)

2 Large Dumbbells with plates

1 small Dumbbell with metal plates (I am not sure the max weight but I wish I had two of these because the smaller size is much easier for me to use)

2 basic 2kg Dumbbells

dscn2316

And lastly an Equalizer which I bought myself with my first paycheck

dscn2322

I can’t tell you how tired people are when they ask me what I want for X-mas/Birthdays and I say fitness equipment or gift cards to fitness stores lol Not all of my birthday gifts have arrived in the mail yet so maybe I will be able to add to this list. I still have some items on my wish list for the future and I would like to get confident enough to workout outside. If I could work outside I would like to get ropes and a tire. As for a sleigh I have been known to drag my husband around the floor (he is about 80 kg) lol I also use the stairs I have at home, chairs, brooms, towels because honestly a lot of household items will do beautifully. In my little village there isn’t a gym and the park has very limited equipment and the kids kind of have priority there. I sometimes run outside but other than that I mostly work out indoors. At the moment we are overrun with moose and deer, no fucks do they give about hanging out in the middle of the road or in people’s yard. We have them in our yard as well and let me tell you moose are scary big! What household items do you use and how?

Measurement Update (baby steps)

Honestly I can’t believe it has been 9 months since I last updated my measurements. I actually thought I had done it 2 months ago, time really flies haha. There is nothing amazing to report. As you know I have thyroid issues and because of it my metabolism is slower than average. Calorie deficits don’t work for me because it seems to trigger starvation mode instantaneously. For several months I attempted my usual over-exercise route but of course that has the same effect of slowing my metabolism to a crawl (it also increases my appetite). So recently I have reworked my exercise plan. I eat normally. No dieting. No restriction other than keeping my sweet treats down to once a day in sensible portions. I exercise in moderation (at least I try). I have after months of spinning in circles and struggling against my metabolism finally started to see a teeny tiny bit of movement in the right direction. It’s not much and I know anyone else in 9 months would have a totally different body by now but I haven’t gained and that alone makes me happy. Consistency, consistency, consistency. I am aiming for a lifelong plan obviously, not a quick fix.

Here are my old stats for comparison

Starting Weight: 59.5 kg/131lbs
Current Weight: 58 kg/127.8 lbs

Right and Left Arm: 27 cm/10.6 inches
Waist: 66.6 cm/26.2 inches (look at that evil number haha)
Hips 96.5 cm/37.9 inches
Right Thigh: 54.3 cm/21.4 inches
Left Thigh: 53.8 cm/21.2 inches
Right and Left Calf: 34.2 cm/13.5 inches
Chest: 95.5 cm/37.5 inches

Here are my stats as of this morning

Current Weight- 56.2 kg/123.8 1bs

Right and Left Arm: 25.4 cm/10 inches

Waist: 64.7 cm/25.5 inches

Hips: 91.4 cm/36 inches

Right Thigh: 51.4 cm/20.25 inches

Left Thigh: 50.8 cm/20 inches

Right and Left Calf: 33.6 cm/13.25 (My calves are pretty much just this size as weird and enormous as that is. No matter what I weigh that is the size they are.)

Chest: 88.9 cm/35 inches (I am not totally sure about this because I didn’t have a proper bra on I had on my sports bra where as before I wore a properly fitting bra. Either way my actual boobs don’t seem to have changed much and I hope they won’t because I am satisfied with them lol)

What I am aiming for (overall I am pretty content I just really want a tiny waist)

Weight: 54 kg/120 lbs (I am not that far! Though it might take me another 9 months to get there lol)

Arms: 9.5 inches so not much just a little sleeker

Waist: 23 inches (lol really I do probably not going to happen if I don’t give up gluten though because I have problems with my stomach (try alternating diarrhea and constipation, bloating and severe cramps))

Hips: I am not really aiming to lose my butt

Thighs: Don’t really care actually 20 inches even just for symmetry. I am not worried about thick thighs though, that is my personal preference. I wouldn’t mind losing a bit more fat and putting in some more muscle though. Actually even though the measurements haven’t changed much I visually do see a difference!

Calves: The calves I have are the calves I have, genetically I come from a long line of ladies with monster calves.

Chest: I would like to keep what I have please and thank you.

Hungry and Sleepy

I don’t actually remember where I am in this blog. What have I told you? What haven’t I told you? Anyhow I have switched to my new workout format. I now wake up at 5:50 am so I can get ready for work. I still do yoga in the mornings which is partly why I have to wake up so damn early. I don’t have much time to get ready in the mornings and it is a mad chaotic dash. I have to do a lot of prep in advance. I have to prepare my lunch and even my breakfast the night before. I have to set my clothes out in advance. I have to brush my hair and floss my teeth the night before as well. Weirdly my hair does not get tangled from sleeping. Once I am off the bus I have to walk as fast as I can (considering the snow and ice) to work. It is only like a 10 minute walk but I am power walking the hell out it. My job is not totally sedentary. I am standing for some of it, twisting turning, and occasionally it requires a little umm force. Then I get to sit in the cold for about 50 minutes waiting for the bus which I am sure is burning calories because even though I eat lunch I am pretty much starved by the time I get home lol Once home I clean and workout. I haven’t gotten used to the new schedule yet so the workouts are pretty fucking grueling. When I have yoga that is fabulous but Hiit and weights is tough. My arms are actually rather tired since I am using my hands and arms in my work. I know I am burning extra calories but I have less time to eat. I like to have peanut butter sandwiches for breakfast but that takes a long time to eat (I am the slowest sandwich eater in the known universe) and so I end up with oatmeal or kefir and muesli and that does nothing to sooth my voracious appetite. For lunch it is just easier to have a sandwich partly because I am too lazy about cooking dinner and rarely have anything left over. I have to get the eating sorted because I am sure that is partly why I don’t have any energy by the time I workout. Also Sam and Isadora are sick so I might be fighting their germs.