Today I thought I would do a simple review of a handful of fitness personalities (which got obscenely long). Most of these guys have a channel on Youtube so if you are in need of a little inspiration for your workouts I will include links! Before I begin I would like to say that I do not have personal contact with any of these people and I am not interested in gossip or drama. I may expand this list later.

Fitness Blender

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiP6wD_tYlYLYh3agzbByWQ

Pros

Large selection of free workouts (different lengths, different types)

Sound nutritional advice

Their workouts often include a warm up and a cool down. They provide links for workouts that do not include warm ups/cool downs.

Easy to follow instruction/demonstrations included

Good pace

Professionally polished workouts, very well-organized and executed

Daniel and Kelli both seem like genuine people and they make an adorable couple!

Supportive/positive/no body shaming

The 1000 calorie workouts are awesome!

Modifications for beginners and tips for advancement

Cons

I really don’t have any cons. They seem to favor a Tabata-style workout (20 seconds on, 10 seconds rest and repeat) and for me that can get a little too repetitive. I prefer a 30-40 second interval and a huge variety of exercise.

Dulcinea Hellings

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQN9dx-tAAGQkN-MCnl5SUg

It has been many years now since I worked out with Dulcinea. But Dulcinea was the first youtuber I ever worked out with so I felt it important to include her. Her channel doesn’t seem to be getting a lot of traffic these days but she still updates it.

Pros

What appealed to me about Dulcinea when I first started training with her was that she has a feminine physique. Seeing someone who looked like me working out was very motivating/inspiring.

She has a variety of workouts available on her channel for free.

Most of her workouts are b/w 40-50 minutes which is the perfect length for me.

She includes a warm up/cool down in all of her workouts (at least all the ones I have seen)

She seems to be having a ridiculously good time (at least in her early workouts). Working out with her was like playing and it taught me to laugh at myself when I messed up. She also taught me that exercise can and should be fun.

Modifications are offered for beginners.

Cons

Some people might find it a con that she gets winded, slows down, or needs to take breaks. I just take it as her being a real person.

P90X

Pros

Tony Horton is in ridiculously good shape for a man in his 50s (for a man in general). This shit works.

Upbeat and positive vibe. Tony is very animated.

Tips for modifying and advancing exercises (exercises can be quite hard)

Warm ups and cool downs included in every workout

Variety of workouts and innovative exercises

Well-organized and professional

Comes with a nutritional guide (very detailed, sensible, includes recipes, and good calorie recommendations)

Comes with a fitness guide

Comes with worksheets to record your progress and a workout calender if you need help planning. If you are looking for the full package this is definitely the way to go.

He really emphasizes the importance of stretching.

He incorporates a lot of different styles of exercise

Cons

Both P90X and P90X2 have very long workouts sometimes as much as 80 minutes. So if you are pushed for time this could be an issue. P90X3 offers 30 minute workouts for those with time constraints.

A lot of equipment is required. You are going to need to buy weights, bands, or improvise with weighted household objects. I only have 1 medicine ball but at times they use 3! Tony uses the pull up bar a lot. In some workouts he uses the pull up bar so much I feel that I have more or less modified the entire workout! Even if I owned a pull up bar I could not do so many pull ups.

Other equipment includes (Pilates Ball, Foam Roller, Step, Yoga Blocks, Power Stands)

Expense (an excellent all inclusive plan but it will cost you)

Bodyrock/Lisa Marie

(I do most of my Bodyrock Workouts with Lisa Marie so this review focuses on her)

Bodyrock’s Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuY1W4AwhhgkB6rsJBtltUA

Lisa Marie’s Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClDNX3BO-8Dtf7b1B-2KI3Q

Pros

I love the way she organizes her workouts. You are never left standing around like a moron trying to figure out what comes next.

Intervals are b/w 30-50 seconds (50 seconds is challenging!)

Long and short HIIT workouts are available

The workouts are fun and innovative

Her workouts are rarely repetitive, I love the variety

I find her to be very motivating

She offers 30 day challenges and the workouts get progressively harder as you go along

Tips for modifying and advancing

Lots of free workouts to be found on Youtube both on Bodyrock’s main channel and her personal channel

Cons

Requires quite a bit equipment: weights, kettlebells, weighted balls, sandbags, challenger, weighted vest, step, Bosu, jump rope (though she frequently offers alternatives for those who do not have equipment). I don’t own a challenger at present. I get around it using a step stool or modifying the exercise with a floor exercise. I also don’t own a weighted vest. I asked for a sandbag for my birthday several years ago and I have to say it is one of my favorite pieces of equipment. It is so much easier on the shoulders than a weighted bar and I don’t have to worry about dropping it on the floor. It is very versatile and has vastly improved my workouts.

Their website is incomprehensible to me. I almost never look at it for that reason.

They do offer nutritional advice but I haven’t looked into it thoroughly. Some of the recipes I have seen do look pretty tasty! I surmise that they follow a Paleo diet and I personally don’t like low carb diets but that is something for you to decide. Generally when I look at these types of diets they seem to be a little low on calories so be careful about that. Make sure you calculate your caloric needs first and keep it sensible people.

Does not offer warm ups or cool downs those are separate. Burnouts are also sometimes separate. They are probably located on that mysterious website somewhere.

Bodyrock Sean Light

I have sampled some of the other Bodyrock instructors workouts and Sean’s routines were the only ones I really just did not like. I do not mean any offense in writing this, this is just my opinion.

Pros

The high level of repetition increases the possibility of failure so if you are looking to burn out on a move this method might just suit you.

Cons

Appears unorganized as if the workouts are spur of the moment. It is absolutely necessary to print off the workouts ahead of time because he does not demo them in advance. Since I can’t navigate their website I am unable to print off the workouts. Perhaps you need to be a member?

Workouts are very repetitive. He typically does 3 rounds of very similar exercises. Push ups seem to be his go to move. I get bored easily so this style of training doesn’t work for me.

He seems disinterested and distracted during the workouts.

Some exercises have too many parts to them making them slow going and cumbersome. When you have a 30 second interval and a complicated move it just doesn’t work.

He does a lot of wide push ups so watch out for that because these are bad for your shoulders.

Blogilates

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIJwWYOfsCfz6PjxbONYXSg

Pros

Mostly Pilates which could also be a con if you don’t like Pilates but if you are specifically looking for a Pilate’s workout then it is a pro.

Very innovative exercises. I am constantly astounded by Cassey’s creativity. I never knew there was so many ways to work well anything haha

Cassey is very cheerful, positive, and cute (but she could still probably kick your ass). Our personalities are very different and so sometimes I find that her innocence and positivity lifts my spirits and sometimes if I am feeling particularly aggressive I get annoyed.

She gives sincerely good advice and promotes self-acceptance.

Workouts tend to be very short so if you don’t have a lot of time it works out. If like me, you like a longer workout, however, you are probably going to have to do several workouts in a row.

You will feel the burn!!!

She also offers recipes and some of them are pretty damn tasty. Bonus they are easy to make.

She gets those hard to reach and unknown muscles.

Requires very little equipment and when equipment is involved it is often common household items. She really makes a point that you can workout without owning a home gym.

Her workouts often include music which I know is a big plus for some people. I don’t listen to pop music myself though so I pretty much tune out the music.

No one gets my abs burning like Cassey.

Cons

She does the same exercise for a very long time, like the length of an entire song. This can get to be too much at times. She never seems to be hurting but man I am on FIRE. I probably cuss at the screen more during her workouts than any other.

While her meals are very healthy and balanced they are also very low in calories so if you want to eat like Cassey make sure you are getting enough calories.

The workouts are shorter than you think. She talks quite a bit. I don’t mind her talking while we workout because it distracts a little from the pain but the intro talks are long enough that they warrant a separate video. Don’t get me wrong she does have some meaningful heart to heart talks with her viewers but when I click on a workout video I prefer to get started right away.

Insanity and Insanity Asylum

Pros

You will burn calories!

The workouts are challenging, hell even the warmups are challenging.

Workouts run b/w 30-60 minutes

Emphasizes the importance of the warm up and cool down and provides them in every workout

Like P90X it is a complete package so it comes with a fitness and nutrition guide. A workout guide and worksheets. It can also very effectively be combined with P90X.

Shaun T comes off as very sincere to me and I like his personality.

Offers lots sensible advice and encouragement.

It’s fun and packed with good exercises! Lots of people borrow from Insanity because it is that good.

Cons

It’s not free but again if you are looking for a good package this really is a good package.

It requires some equipment. Weights/bands/jump rope/Agility Ladder. I can’t believe how expensive an Agility Ladder is it boogles my mind so I doubt I will ever own this particular piece of equipment.

It is high impact so be prepared with low impact alternatives if you have bad joints.

If you are new to exercise or out of shape I recommend you start with something else because this is very intense. If you are in good shape this could be exactly what you are looking for.

Zuzuka Light

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrd4Hfglr4EczsLXKdGvCLA

Pros

Workouts are available for all levels

She is very good about offering modifications for beginners as well as including tips for advancement.

She is insanely fit. I mean what?!

I like her personality she is gentle and soft-spoken but for some reason I still feel compelled to do what she says.

She encourages you to challenge yourself. Many of her workouts are time challenges. Basically you get 15 minutes and 5 exercises and you have to go through those exercises as many times as you can. The first round she demos the exercises carefully. The first round is performed more slowly which allows you time to get the move, subsequent rounds are faster. Even though I am supposed to be competing with myself I still want to do as many rounds as she does so I sometimes have to pause the workout. I am the world’s slowest person at push ups but other exercises I can keep pace with her.

I am always surprised by how much I sweat when I do these time challenges because it seems pretty strait-forward at a glance.

If you are looking for a quick and intense workout this is a good choice.

Cons

If you are looking for a longer workout you are going to have to do more than one workout

The workouts can be repetitive but the exercises themselves are pretty damn clever.

She doesn’t really offer warm ups and cool downs in the workout itself though I believe she provides links.

Again her diet seems to Paleo and I am little unsure about the calorie content so take care. Some of the recipes do look tasty.

Here is my video for the day as well. I find doing a plank on a med ball or using a sturdy kettlebell gets the stabilizers more involved. Do not substitute with a basketball. Whatever you use it must be solid enough to support your weight. Do this for 30 seconds to 1 minute. My hair looks god awful. It is so dry it has just broken to bits. I am using heavy coconut oil but it just seems to vanish after application. Also I have Kyphosis so sorry my back isn’t perfect.

 

 

Leave a Reply

