Longevity, Bad Skin, and Bumblebees

I have been studying a lot about longevity lately

What I have learned is by no means a great revelation so don’t expect to be astounded

A primarily plant-based diet. Protein is not central to a meal it is a side dish. There was no sign of carb-cutting, reduced fat, sugar substitutes, extremism. Just eating regular home-cooked type foods. Home grown foods were pretty common too. I am fortunate in that I like, well everything. Unfortunately this makes me boring to cook for according to the hubster because I will eat whatever you put in front of me without complaint.

Participation within a community and a strong social network. Having friends and getting out of the house go a long way to stave off Depression. I struggle with this step. Sam and I go to festivals and community celebrations regularly for Isadora’s sake but we haven’t really gotten to the stage of actually talking to people yet! We don’t have friends and the thought of bumping into someone I know fills me with dread.

Occupation/Passion long-lived people tend to go on working and leading active lifestyles.

Regular exercise/activity

Resilience the ability to roll with the punches and well to laugh at oneself

You know the expression idle hands are the Devil\s plaything? I think it goes for the mind as well. I struggle with this one, I have what you could call lazy lobes. I avoid hard things like math. On the workout mat I am embracing all sorts of new challenges but I have yet to crack a physics book. I like learning what I like learning but I think a sense of curiosity/wonder and a willingness to step out of your comfort zone is the key to keeping sharp.

Well those are a few points I noticed repeatedly.

I am the queen of ruts and at the moment that is one of my biggest hurdles. I am looking for somewhere between coma patient and adrenalin-junkie.

Okay on to the random tidbits

I have been having problems with my skin ever since I moved to Sweden namely year round dryness and Eczema during the winter. Then I started birth control which has resulted in some breakouts, uneven pores and tone, and redness. Add that to my Irish heritage very sensitive, very fair, very thin skin and I am looking downright haggard. I look about 48 on a good day and I am only 35. I used to have a lovely porcelain complexion now I look like I am wearing a mask sewn out of other’s people’s faces. I have a hypoallergenic soap and lotion despite the grotesque expense and I am keeping hydrated and sun safe but I am still looking less than radiant. I read that Aloe Vera is good for redness, thin skin, and well basically everything! I have two Aloe Vera plants so today I wiped what looked every bit like heaping amounts of pre-ejaculate all over my face hopeful for some miracle. Aside from the squirm/giggle factor the actual Aloe Vera was extremely soothing to my feverish flesh (I don’t have a fever just hormonal temperature spikes). I really hope this helps because despite the big role my vanity plays in the endeavor for decent skin it is also really uncomfortable.

We have lots of bumblebees around our home, which is fine, I love bumblebees, the world needs bumblebees and sometimes they fly into the house. The other day I saw a bumblebee flying around my living room with a long strand of my red curly hair. I am not sure if it got caught on his/her plush or if he/she just wanted it for some mysterious reason.

While Sam was working in the hobby room a bumblebee got in (not sure if it was the same one) and it stopped in front of one of my paintings and just stared at it for several minutes as if in deep contemplation. What are the bees up too?

8 responses

  1. We have lots of bumblebees around our home, which is fine, I love bumblebees, the world needs bumblebees and sometimes they fly into the house. The other day I saw a bumblebee flying around my living room with a long strand of my red curly hair. I am not sure if it got caught on his/her plush or if he/she just wanted it for some mysterious reason.

    –

    While Sam was working in the hobby room a bumblebee got in (not sure if it was the same one) and it stopped in front of one of my paintings and just stared at it for several minutes as if in deep contemplation. What are the bees up too?

    I’m so sorry …but I can’t stop laughing at this …. I mean, how COOL is this????

    And the way you phrase the question: what are the bees up to?

    It almost sounds insidious …. but I suspect they are just pleasantly wandering about …. as for the red hair – it’s most likely the color they are attracted to …. hmmm …. now I’m wondering if bees see? And damn it – I know enough about bees to know/understand the answer to that question … but my brain is half dead ….. and perhaps, hovering in front of a painting – perhaps, again, a color attraction thing. Either that, or maybe it’s Picasso or some other high artist stopping in for a look-see, in different form.

    Hope you get the skin thing cleared up better – and hey – ya know, I’m freaking 47 and I don’t look that bad! Sheesh!

    As for “diet” – sensible eating …. honestly …. sensible eating – not excessive amounts of anything – and the better the quality of the food – as in, at its raw stages – i.e. less GMO crap etc. etc. and prepared properly and well – and yeah, this type of eating is better. But it’s not just the one thing, as you’ve mentioned – it’s a combination of stuff – like exercise, definitely more important since we are now more than ever too sedentary. Socializing – definitely.

    So one day at a time and slow period of adjustments and working through stuff as best you can – that’s the ticket.

    • They seem pretty innocent to me, bumblebees but I like to think of them having little secret projects haha I think they do like the colors. In the sun my hair is red and gold, multi-hued and bees are always circling my head, sometimes they get stuck in my hair, which is less fun, and sometimes they want to look at my eyelashes which are the same color so they get on my face. Other people get quite annoyed with me for it because they follow me around everywhere, yellow jackets too and they can be nasty bastards, luckily they are only curious about me not aggressive. I do get in some very healthy meals, I love veggies and have a broad palate it is just the fatigue and the fact that the family is less open (especially the little one, Sam has alot of digestive issues). It is hard to find something everyone is willing/able to eat. My daughter has a messed up sense of taste, I guess it is a kid thing but like she confuses all the tastes (she thinks salt is sour, she perceives spiciness in mild foods that have no added heat whatsoever) and like all kids if it doesn’t look a certain way or if she knows a friend didn’t like it, she hates it without ever tasting it. I am trying though “sigh”

      • ahhh the trials of children ….. well, hopefully her tastes will adjust themselves easily enough and then perhaps, she’ll feel better about food – and the desire to eat with less fuss. Of course, it can be exceptionally difficult to adjust diet when there is such a divergence going on, and as you say, when fatigue is such a huge role – what should be easy, becomes more than an obstacle.

        As for the bees – well, that’s totally cool – albeit a bit annoying at times, especially when they are hovering too close to the face. As for the yellow jackets – yeah, that can be a bit more troublesome – they “seem” more unpredictable in their nature – whether it’s truth? Well, hard to say – but as long as you remain calm, most of the time they will just wander off. LOL@the secret agendas …. I’d like to think along the same way …. XD

      • She does like to eat, she inherited my robust (ahem gluttonous appetite) it is just that she is picky and tends to sneak food (she used to at age 4 steal blocks of cheese!). She likes Japanese flavors because we cook so much Japanese food which is good and that allows me to squeeze in some healthier meals. I am pretty calm but my mom is severely allergic to bees and went into anaphlactic shock once when I was a kid and was rushed to hospital so when I am with her I get nervous, otherwise I am used to it

      • Often children, unconsciously, eat and “sneak” food that their bodies need. Even if the adults don’t understand it. My brother, as a child, could easily eat a block of cheese and drink 2 litres of milk in one go – and although there are arguments and facts proving that too much of something good can be equally unhealthy, I suspect it was because his body was trying to instinctively defend and protect itself from the onslaught of violent, physical assault, beatings to the Nth degree, doled out as punishments, unprovoked, at our father’s hands. In theory, we both should have been in the ER with a host of broken bones, but it never happened. And much like cravings, the body usually knows what it needs to feel right – it’s just too often, for so many reasons, associations, emotions, psychological traumas etc. override the “right” voices, and we “indulge” in the food stuffs that we “think” will satisfy us. Chances are your little one is just finding her own way, like most kids.

        I can understand that – when you’ve witnessed severe anaphylactic shock it definitely ups the ante. And since bees are common and “erratic” in their flight, it can become a very stressful situation, so it’s understandable that it would be a more extreme situation if your mother was around. :/

      • She tended to steal cheese during growth spurts, during a growth spurt she is ravenous. She was always hungrier than other babies but her weight is healthy and as a baby she actually had a 6 pack for a while. She was just such a busy little thing, running circles around other kids. Thankfully at 8 she is able to sleep and not quite so insanely energetic!

        I am so sorry about what happened to you and your brother. That’s awful.

        It is always an extreme situation when my mother is around lol

      • Well as long as your little one can sleep – well, consider that a huge blessing πŸ˜€ Probably expends so much energy, so it helps. And as long as she is healthy? then no worries.

        thanks (re brother/me reference) – shit happens in life. it is what it is.

      • It was such a relief when she started sleeping through the night. She has never had issues with nightmares it was just she wanted to stay up and play. She is healthy thankfully and I hope she remains so

Leave a Reply

