Jump!

In my recent post to Mindlovemisery I gave a vague overview of the stuff rattling around in my head. Not a very gripping read I am afraid because the things I am wrestling with now aren’t so easily penned down. Instead of talking about what essentially amounts to gibberish I’ll talk about my fitness journey and yes I am still on one despite the lack of posts.

What I am doing

I have kept up with my exercise. Haven’t missed a day. I admit I have cussed a lot during my Thursday workouts because it is a challenge to workout directly after my cleaning job. It is a physical job and all I want to do when I get home is hop in the shower and take a nap! I haven’t developed stamina yet and I am not sure it is physical stamina that is the problem. I am almost agoraphobic so being out and around people is very stressful and exhausting. I am keeping the Thursday workout around 30 minutes though so nothing too long.

I do yoga 30 minutes every morning 6 days a week (the 7th day is 1 hour of yoga or recovery exercises from various videos). I am including a lot more posture work in the routines and have started to work with some very challenging stabilizer exercises. I plan to continue systematically targeting and building up my weak points in this way. I have seen an increase in my back and shoulder strength.

My main workouts I generally try to keep under 1 hour. My general preference is 45 minutes to 1 hour. After 1 hour I start to lose focus, enthusiasm. I am mixing it up though some days my workout is only 30 minutes particularly on Thursday/Friday when I have a lot going on. This is excluding the 30 minute yoga session in the mornings which is mandatory to keep my body pain and Depression in check.

On Tuesdays I have started a 10 minute run which I do before Pilates. The weather is nice now and it gets me outside. I started last Tuesday after having avoided running for 2- 4 years (I know it was a min of 2 years). I am able to run the full 10 minutes on hilly terrain. I do not run fast. I am not fast. I have lots of slow twitch muscle fibers and I am clumsy as hell and have a strange tendency for face planting. I am able to run 1 mile in the 10 minutes which I think is a good pace for this turtle. My dream is to one day do a 5K charity run. I haven’t really attempted to run very far, I have always plotted myself small circular courses to avoid getting lost. I get lost easily in fact the very first day I ran I actually ran past my house without seeing it on the return trip, so I have to be careful not to end up in Texas Chainsaw Massacre type areas! Right now I am just trying to get used to running, though I do not think I will ever really get comfortable with running which is partly why I am doing it, albeit in small doses.

As for my diet it has been iffy.

I had cut the sweets down and as a result the cysts in my breasts almost completely disappeared! Then a bunch of special occasions popped up at once and I increased my intake and the cysts returned with a vengeance. I am hoping the cysts will disappear with the decrease in sugar. I have actually made myself some healthy snacks and am trying to ween myself from frozen meal laziness. Now Sweden does have some decent frozen meals with identifiable ingredients and all that and I don’t snack extra or anything as a result of eating the frozen meals but I know that I need to actually make the food myself. I am not saying I never prepare my own food because I do but I am a lazy cook. I love lentils like they are seriously delicious but I don’t love to cook lentils. I just don’t like cooking that much.

A random question (Isadora asked me this morning because they are practicing jumping at school)

Are you better at long jump or vertical jump?

4 responses

  1. I am still very much happy, rooting for you and amazed at your exercise plans. Here are mine: Order a cake for weekend (Check sign!)
    I am much much better at the long jump. In elementary school I was sent on a competition for it in 6th grade. I did not go, because I was shy and scared 😛

    • Thank you so much! Is it as special occasion? What sort of cakes do you have? The cakes in Sweden are vastly different fromt he cakes in the US. That is impressive! I am also better at long jump, but I wouldn’t say I was good. I honestly have no idea what would be good though as I don’t know what is normal for a woman my age haha

      • No special occasion per se, but I didn’t have money to make my younger brother a cake and it was his b day recently, so as soon as I got money I ordered one, again, not literally ordered, just gave my aunt money for the ingredients. This is the best cake in the world and we literally fight over it. She modified a cheesecake. The bottom part is not the tasteless crumbling mass, but a mixture of Nutela, a Serbian biscuit called Plazma and orange juice. Middle is the cream and the top jelly and strawberries!

Leave a Reply

