Drawing without Depth Perception Part 2

snapshot (2)

This is a poppy because that might not be obvious.  I found the poppy exceedingly difficult (to me poppies appear particularly flat and dimensionless) and this is all kinds of wrong.  I asked Sam to take a look at my drawings because as a woodworker he draws perspective sketches regularly and he told me the angle on the flower core is off which is causing the wonky perspective in both my images. If possible I will attempt to rectify the angle issue in future attempts. He thought I did a good job with the petal in the front though.

 

I am thinking of doing a series of  challenges

 

I will draw with both eyes closed using my dominate hand

I will draw with my dominate eye closed using my right hand (dominate) and then another picture using my left hand

I will draw with my lazy, poorly functioning eye closed using my right and then left hand

I will draw with both eyes closed using my non dominate hand

Then I will probably revert to normal again. Should I draw the same flower for this over and over again? This might seem a strange thing but I want to see the impact my lazy eye is having on my perception.

4 responses

  1. Yes, I’d use the same subject for all of the drawings, then you’ll be able to see how they differ from one another. I think this should prove to be a most useful exercise, Yves! I hope you’ll publish the results here…

Leave a Reply

