Luck

incredible_surreal_art_640_06 (1)

If I have learned one thing it’s that we do not get what we want when our objectives are ill-defined. I have found that good luck boils down to having a sense of purpose, to be committed fully to a specific goal or outcome. I have had instances of outrageously goodluck. The kind of goodluck that makes aliens as obvious as pigeons and in every one of those instances I have had a very clearly articulated wish. I want a house. I want a yard for Isadora. A place for Sam to woodwork. I want a yoga room haha The other day Sam and I looked at a house. This is the first house the bank has agreed to fund us on.

 

The house was not in good condition. In the photos they neglected to show the basement. Even before I stepped foot in the basement I could smell the mold. Once inside there was actually white mold growing on the ceiling! In North Carolina the humid climate makes mold somewhat unavoidable (there has to be a limit though!) but Sweden has a much dryer climate. I rarely even see mold and certainly nothing as heinous as what I saw in that basement. Sam is very handy so he can fix most things. We also have access to a lot of tools, his dad has everything conceivable. What we don’t have is an inexhaustible money tree. If anyone has such a tree and would be willing to send us a few seeds please let me know!

 

My nose tells me the mold situation is very severe that it’s not just stripping the basement and sticking in a dehumidifier. My nose tells me that it might have gotten into the first floor as well. On top of that they are trying to sell the house super fast and they’ve falsified some of the information. It looks suspect as hell. So we’ve decide it’s a no go on the fungal cloud house. We’ve found another house in that town which seems to be in our range (even a photo of the basement area). I will hopefully take a tour on April 23, a day after my 14 year anniversary (hope that makes it lucky). I really like the house from what I have seen so far. Just to have an opportunity feels good because for awhile there just didn’t seem to be any hope at all. I realize that any house we buy will need a lot of work but that there even exists options at all is a step up from the abyss.

9 responses

    • I had a feeling it was going to guzzle money and a terrifying vision of homelessness. The dishonesty too I mean it makes you think is there something worse than what I have already seen? Like does the mold walk around at night?

      • I know eeep

        A normal sized person who have to bend going down the stairs (not me but almost haha) and the ceiling was low thank God for shortness but a man who went after us was 2 meters tall (not sure how he even managed the pygmy stairs) and we were like keep your head down really down. imagine that stuff getting all in his hair

  1. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you, so you find the perfect house and can afford it!
    On a sidenote, our annivercaries are also pretty damn close (ours is on the 16th!)

    • We’re just freaky similar haha I hope so the afford part is the challenge the thing is a house will be cheaper for us than an apartment. That may sound jacked up but an apartment in the city versus a house in country it is a big difference. In a city apartment we’d have no space and they’d keep hiking up the rent until we couldn’t pay so I am really hoping for a house because I don’t want Isadora to keep being uprooted

Leave a Reply

