October 28 2013

 

summer-sleep-wallpaper

My eyes

As silk-wrapped wings

Falter

Shadowy legs

Crowding the periphery

A day of dreams

Tended but unmet

*

To sleep

As if empty

Flesh yielding

Bones malleable

As red earth

*

To sleep

As if consumed

Deliquescing

Into docile sheets

There exists

No greater impetus

Than to return

Unfinished

To the night

=

I am exhausted. Isadora had a great time yesterday, the kids were happy. There wasn’t much socializing between the adults, however. Isadora is on fall break now so she is home this week. I wonder if I can convince her to the let me sleep?

14 responses

  1. I am very happy to hear that everything went great and the celebration was nice and enjoyable for Isa! I wanted to write to you yesterday,but my internet was terrible-_-
    The writing is beautiful and enchanting, as always!
    Hope you get some rest!

Leave a Reply

